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A customer, by our definition, must be actively paying you for your product or service on a recurring basis. By this definition: 1) Someone who is fully discounted or credited for their subscription…
Updated 3 years ago by Allissa Chan
When calculating your monthly recurring revenue (MRR), the first thing ProfitWell does is break down bi-monthly, quarterly, semi-annual, and/or annual contracts into their monthly subscription value…
Updated 3 months ago by Neel Desai
The first thing you’ll notice is that we break down churn in two sub-categories: Cancellations: These are the customers who actively choose to cancel their accounts. Delinquent. These are customers w…
Updated 4 years ago by Neel Desai
Your LTV represents the total amount of money you can expect from each of your customers throughout their time with you. Our calculation is roughly ARPU/(1-Retention) but keep reading for more info o…
Updated 3 years ago by Neel Desai
ProfitWell always subtracts discounts and credits before calculating MRR. For example, a user that's on a $120 annual plan who is given a 10% discount, will have MRR of $9. ($108/12 months) Likewise,…
The complete SaaS guide to calculating and optimizing ARPU. Getting to know your customer is what separates the losers from the winners in the SaaS world. When you break down a successful business yo…
If there's one thing we learned in the past few years, it's that one of the best tools you have in order to operate and execute in the present is being able to forecast what the future will look like…
These are users who've decided to cancel their accounts but still have time remaining on the last month of their subscription Even though these folks have opted-out of your service, they will contrib…
Updated 5 years ago by Neel Desai
ProfitWell does not count users who are new and then churn in the same month as "churned" users. For example, if a user were to pay you $100 on 12/5 and then churn on 12/6, we would show that $100 as…
Virtual plans are collections of your company’s plans that are logically grouped together, allowing you to segment your metrics by multiple plans at once. First, navigate to Account Settings → Data S…
ProfitWell, generally speaking, ignores refunds. With the purpose of MRR being a momentum metric, we're focused on events that are recurring. If you offer a customer a one-month full refund, we don't…
Updated 4 years ago by Alex Hult
If there's multiple subscription changes occurring for one customer during the same calendar month, we bundle these together, and show you the end result of what occurred during that month. Thus, if…
It is common for many subscription companies to offer free trial to customers up front, how are free trials reflected in ProfitWell? Trials only exist in Stripe x Profitwell integration. Under "Reven…
Updated 5 months ago by Regina Ye
The SaaS Quick Ratio measures how "efficient" your revenue growth is. Not all growth is created equal —and even though two companies can have the exact same revenue or customer growth rate, the under…
The "Reactivations" bucket to your Revenue and Customer trends consists of customers who have churned at some point in time, and then signed back up. The customer must have the same customer ID to be…
Updated 2 years ago by Neel Desai
ProfitWell has partnered with Stripe to provide its users with deep insights into their financial metrics. That said, there are few differences in the methodologies around calculating these metrics.…
Updated 4 months ago by Eric Stresen-Reuter
ProfitWell has partnered with Chargify to provide its users with deep insights into their financial metrics. That said, there are few differences in the methodologies around calculating these metrics…
ProfitWell has partnered with Recurly to provide its users with deep insights into their financial metrics. That said, there are few differences in the methodologies around calculating these metrics.…
ProfitWell has partnered with a number of subscription billing and management platforms to provide you with deep insights into your financial metrics. Our methodology behind calculating certain metri…
Updated 2 years ago by Allissa Chan
ProfitWell has partnered with ReCharge to provide its users with deep insights into their financial metrics. That said, there are few differences in the methodologies around calculating these metrics…
ProfitWell has partnered with Zuora to provide its users with deep insights into their financial metrics. That said, there are few differences in the methodologies around calculating these metrics. T…
What are ProfitWell Customer Health Scores? ProfitWell's customer health scores predict how likely your customers are to churn. We apply advanced machine learning models on your revenue and customer…
Updated 1 year ago by Hannah Wei
You can remove specific customers from ProfitWell so that their numbers do not show up in metrics - this is called excluding a customer. These instructions are for customers that are automatically im…
Updated 2 years ago by Hannah Wei
ProfitWell helps you organize your customers based on their health scores, combining the factors of Likelihood to Churn , Engagement , and MRR. Here are the breakdowns of the Signals: RISK - at risk…
ProfitWell has partnered with Braintree to provide its users with deep insights into their financial metrics. That said, there are few differences in the methodologies around calculating these metric…
ProfitWell has partnered with Chargebee to provide its users with deep insights into their financial metrics. That said, there are few differences in the methodologies around calculating these metric…
Updated 4 months ago by Allissa Chan
Conducting a customer retention analysis is much more than calculating the churn rate. To get a clear picture, you need to figure out where, how, and why your customers leave. The MRR Cohorts report…
Updated 8 months ago by Richard Ding
If you use Stripe to handle your payments, then you can use ProfitWell. There are 2 types of use cases in general: For Stripe as a billing system /subscription management solution, you are both handl…
As you start using ProfitWell metrics, you'll notice that there are some differences in your metrics reporting between ProfitWell and Paddle. When reading your ProfitWell data, there are a few things…
Updated 4 months ago by Barakah